通用信息

由于我们的总部设在暹粒,我们可以为您提供所有您需要的柬埔寨行程信息。为此,我们总结了以下信息,每当我们意识到有任何变化,我们会立即更新。


关于柬埔寨


面积:181,035平方公里

人口: 1500万

资本:金边

语言:高棉语,但广泛使用的英语,特别是在暹粒

宗教:佛教

时区:GMT +7小时和BST +6小时

货币:瑞尔,但美元被广泛接受

重量/尺度:柬埔寨使用公制

来源:暹粒客房

金钱事物
我们建议您携带美金,里尔仅用于购买小件物品和小费。大约4,000瑞尔可兑换1美元。 您可以使用暹粒,金边和西哈努克的ATM提取美元。ATM接受以下银行片: Visa,万事达卡,Maestro,Cirrus和Plus。大型酒店和餐馆接受主要信用卡。旅行支票可以在银行、货币兑换商和大多数较大的酒店交换,费用为2%。也可在大多数银行和货币兑换商处通过Visa和Master卡获得现金预付款。银行开放时间为周一至周五上午8:00至下午3:30,部分银行也在星期六上午开放。 货币兑换开放较早,晚上10点左右关闭。所有主要货币都很容易兑换,特别是泰铢和欧元。大多数主要城镇和城市都可用。西联汇款和Moneygram汇款。如果你想转移资金,那么银行转账是最便宜的方式。

请注意,柬埔寨有大量假币,所以你应该在你到达之前及抵达柬埔寨时检查你的美元,甚至是从银行获取的货币。另外,还要确保你的美元处于良好状态,因为大多数地方不会接受有缺陷的纸币,即使面额较小。

访问暹粒的费用
暹粒的成本仍然比较发达国家相对较低。然而,暹粒比柬埔寨的其他城镇还是较为昂贵的。如果你考虑到寺庙的入场费。您可以在我们提供的吴哥寺庙部分找到更多关于这些费用的信息。
周围游玩暹粒是另一个需要考虑的成本。这可以通过每天1.50美元的,相对便宜的自行车租用完成,但如果你喜欢乘坐嘟嘟车或出租车,那么花费会显然较高。您可以在我们的“交通”部分找到关于交通费用的更多信息。
住宿是访问暹粒时考虑的另一种费用,你可以找到很多不同的住宿,从每晚只需要1美元的宿舍床到每晚花费数千美元的豪华酒店。基本上你在暹粒可以找到许多类型的住宿地点,从预算住宿到高端酒店和水疗度假村。您可以在我们的酒店部分找到更多关于酒店、别墅和其他廉价住宿的信息,
你可以在暹粒享用饮食,无论您是预算紧张还是无限预算,因为暹粒有很多路边的食物摊位,你可以享受不到1美元的饮食到非常精细的餐馆,其价格可达到每人100美元。暹粒有很多提供美食的地方,所以无论你是什么预算,你都可以吃得很好。如果你喜欢外出喝几杯(或更多), 那么暹粒仍然有一些地方,你可以花一美元买一杯啤酒或几美元买一杯精美的饮品。城里还有精致的酒吧和鸡尾酒酒吧。你可以花一个晚上参与社交活动,并与其他旅客见面,而费用则不到5美元。你会发现一些可以参观我们的餐馆和酒吧的地方
至于暹粒的其他费用,主要需要考虑是景点和活动。他们不是真的那么贵,你只需要决定是否要参观。为了帮助你决定,你可以在我们的其他景点和休闲活动部分找到很多可以在暹粒游览的景点。
我们建议访问暹粒的每天最低预算为35美元,因为这将包括一天的参观寺庙的通行证,夜间住宿、吃和喝。以每天不到35美元的费用访问暹粒是有可能的,但您不会游览所有地区,我们认为吴哥的古城对大多数人来说是一生值得一试的体验。我们也建议每天60美元,如果你想住在一间体面的酒店中,乘坐舒适的交通工具到吴哥寺庙,在吴哥窟购物或吃喝。
Electricity电力
暹粒很少停电。 此外,大多数大型酒店和餐馆都备有发电机。
电源为220伏AC,50Hz。 大多数插头是扁平的2针,但圆形2针插头也在一些地方可使用。 大多数地方提供适配器。
离境税

成人的国际离境税为每人25美元,12岁以下的儿童为每人13美元,2岁以下儿童免费。成人和12岁以下儿童的国内离境税为6美元。2岁以下的儿童不收费。 签证所有访客都需要签证,但马来西亚,新加坡,菲律宾和老挝国民除外。旅游签证是单身入境,为20美元。你需要随身携带护照大小的照片,如果你没有照片,移民官员将复印您的护照,费用为2美元。签证有效期为一个月,但可以在柬埔寨延长一个月,价格在45美元左右。 14岁以下的儿童需要签证,但是免费的。最短入住时间为24小时,您的护照必须在抵达时至少6个月有效。很少要求返航票据。


商务签证是单身入境,价格为25美元,可以延长为单一入境1个月或3个月,多次入境签证6个月或1年。


任何签证逾期将收取每天5美元。


您可以获得电子签证。 有关更多信息,请参阅evisa.mfaic.gov.kh。


以下国家的国民必须在进入柬埔寨之前向柬埔寨大使馆申请签证,他们还必须有邀请函,或者有旅行社预先安排的旅行:阿富汗,阿尔及利亚,孟加拉国,伊朗,伊拉克,巴基斯坦,沙特阿拉伯,斯里兰卡和苏丹,如果您有邀请函,建议提供返程票据。


某些国民在越过陆地边界时也可能有问题,如果你要去陆路,请先与柬埔寨大使馆联系。我们听到一些案例,印度国民有穿越边境国土的问题,但坐飞机似乎没有问题。


抵达机场

当您到达机场时,您需要填写“要申报的物品”以及“入境和离境”卡。如果您在抵达时没有签证,您还需要填写签证申请表并附上护照尺寸的照片。如果你没有护照照片,那么其中一位官员会很乐意为你复印一份护照,你可以使用它,而不是花费几美元的照片。


健康和卫生

柬埔寨游客最常见的疾病是腹泻或中暑。我们建议您总是食用瓶装水和熟食,因为这将减少腹泻的机会。避免冰,沙拉和去皮的水果也会有帮助。热度和饮酒也会对你的胃有很大的影响。建议喝大量的水,戴阳光帽,避免阳光直射。


疟疾在柬埔寨很常见,但不在暹粒或金边。 抗疟药片不是十分需要,但如果你正在访问柬埔寨的其他地方,那么建议采取某种形式的抗疟疾药片。疟疾由蚊子传播,蚊子通常在晚上咬你。为了帮助保护自己免受疟疾,最好的保护是确保你遮住裸露的皮肤,特别是在晚上,使用基于Deet的驱蚊剂、蚊帐、蚊香圈,并在睡觉前在房间内使用蚊子喷雾。


登革热在柬埔寨也很常见,与疟疾不同,如果不采取预防措施避免蚊子叮咬,尤其是在雨季或雨季后,它可以容易地在暹粒或金边发生。登革热,如疟疾,是由蚊子传播,但这些蚊子在白天时间咬伤不像疟疾携带蚊子,通常在晚上或早晨叮咬。这里不提供登革热接种疫苗,只要你尽快寻求医疗,则不会危机你的生命。防蚊叮咬是防止登革热的最佳方法,所以通过遵循以上相同的建议,你可以保护自己免受蚊子叮咬。


我们强烈建议您在前往暹粒之前寻求专家的医疗建议。

H.I.V影响了大量性工业中的工作人员,乙型肝炎和丙型肝炎也是如此。在暹粒捕获禽流感的机会很少。许多药物均在药店柜台出售,而不是在西部。如果你生病了,告知你的酒店经理,大多数时候,他们会知道在哪里找到一个好医生。对于紧急情况,去机场路上的皇家吴哥医院就诊(见www.royalangkorhospital.com)。我们强烈建议您购买好的旅游保险,在紧急情况下将支付到曼谷或回国的费用。非紧急情况最好是去看医生,而不是去一些诊所,因为你会发现接待员将诊断你患有严重的医疗问题。


邮政服务和通信

暹粒的主要邮局面对暹粒河,位于Pokambor大道西边,也许更容易在FCC旅馆找到,从那里沿河流约400m左右。


邮局的营业时间为星期一至星期六上午7:30至晚上11:00,星期日上午7:30至下午5:30。


暹粒有几间刚开设的快递服务公司,但大多数人知道的是DHL Express,它面向旧市场附近的河流。


网吧和电话

暹粒可能有超过200间网吧,那里您可以使用互联网设施,也可以打国内和国际电话。 互联网费率通常为每小时0.50至1.00美元。通过互联网的国际电话呼叫几乎每分钟不到1.00美元,可通话至所有国家。


柬埔寨的国际代码是855,暹粒的地区代码是63.如果你在柬埔寨,那么你将需要在63前面加拨“0”。


移动SIM卡

旅游SIM卡现在起价为每个大约2美元,它们可持续使用2周。官方上,你需要身为柬埔寨国民身份证,或者你需要在柬埔寨生活和工作,才能为你的手机购买超过2周的SIM卡。


摄影

在暹粒有许多照片商店,你可以冲洗你的照片或把你的照片放到CD上。数码相机的存储卡是广泛可用的,并且比西方国家便宜得多。 在暹粒也很容易购置相机电池。


小费

服务人员不期望获得小费,但是对于每月平均在餐厅赚50美元的人来说,小费是非常可贵的。几千瑞尔或者一美元就足够了,如果你认为他们服务你很好


安全

盗窃是暹粒的主要关注,因为当涉及游客时,警察当局非常重视犯罪。 然而,暹粒可能是亚洲最安全的城镇之一,绝对比西部大多数城镇更安全。


常识可以防止盗窃,如不要携带肩包,如果有人骑摩托车可以将其夺走。大多数盗窃将发生在你住的地方,所以要警惕。在你不知道什么时候使用酒店保险箱或存款箱的情况下,始终将贵重物品放在不能被篡改的密封信封中。不要相信接待员,如果他们说他们没有信封或如果他们说“没有问题”。大多数酒店和宾馆将告诉您不要在房间内放置任何贵重物品,因为他们不负责任。这包括相机、金钱、护照和任何对你有很大价值的东西。你应该总是保持贵重物品放置在酒店保险箱内,如果你不这么做,则是你自己的风险,而不是酒店的管理问题。大多数酒店和宾馆的工作人员不会从你的房间偷走,但如果你离开,譬如,有500美元在你的房间里,这是超过他们1年的工资,这对他们的诱惑太大了!


暹粒在白天和晚上走动是相当安全的,但是,如果你是深夜自己出去,那么我们建议你使用熟悉的嘟嘟车或摩托司机。在晚上暹粒有警察巡逻,许多地方有夜间警卫,以防止窃贼。


请注意,尽管你可能听说过,红色高棉不再活跃于柬埔寨,也没有土匪。最后,最后一条建议。你会发现柬埔寨人非常友好,但正如在任何其他国家,他们会期望你的友好回报。参与与当地人的争论是绝对不明智的,无论您访问哪个国家,包括柬埔寨。


危险和烦恼

蚂蚁:在柬埔寨有一些类型的蚂蚁,其中一些可以给你非常刺激的叮咬。不要把食物放在你的房间里,特别是在里面有糖的食物,或是炸薯条等小吃食物。


臭虫:臭虫携带很多病原体(细菌),引起疾病,但它们不太可能传播任何疾病,你唯一可能得到的是实际咬伤带来的不适。虫就像吸血鬼,比蚊子喝更多的血。它们可以在任何地方找到,即使在5星级酒店,如果床没有定期检查。他们通常住在床垫或床的木制品。 臭虫是红色/棕色的颜色,看起来像一只小甲虫。我们建议你不要给任何乞丐钱或食物,因为这不能长期帮助他们。如果你想帮助他们的情况,那么有一些与他们一起工作的非政府组织,通过培训他们和帮助他们找到工作。


狗:在暹粒狗可以是非常恼人的,因为许多人使用它们作为警卫犬,特别是当有人走近他们的处所时,他们的狗会开始吠叫,当一只狗吠叫时,所有的狗都开始吠叫。不要尝试抚摸任何狗,即使他们看起来友好,因为柬埔寨有狂犬病。


地雷:所有的地雷现在已经在庙宇附近被清除,所以没有令人担忧的地方。然而,如果你要去任何地方且离开主要道路或旅游区,那么你应该总是使用指南服务。


猴子:在寺庙的猴子看起来非常友好,你会看到人们喂养他们关闭,但警告,它们可以很快改变行为,并记得柬埔寨有狂犬病。它们还可以传播结核病(TB)和某些肝炎病毒株。 在猴庙周围喂猴子实际上是非法的。


蚊子:蚊子可以非常恼人,比其它任何事物更挠人,特别是在晚上。当然,它们还携带一些讨厌的疾病,如疟疾和登革热,仅举几例。为了避免它们,在晚上遮盖很好露出裸露的皮肤,并在任何暴露的皮肤上使用较高的拒避蚊胺。酒店和宾馆有许多绿化和停滞池将易招引蚊子,特别是在雨季和雨季过后。


蚊子:蚊子可以非常恼人,比其它任何事物更挠人,特别是在晚上。当然,它们还携带一些讨厌的疾病,如疟疾和登革热,仅举几例。为了避免它们,在晚上遮盖很好露出裸露的皮肤,并在任何暴露的皮肤上使用较高的拒避蚊胺。酒店和宾馆有许多绿化和停滞池将易招引蚊子,特别是在雨季和雨季过后。


诈骗:没有一个亚洲国家会有比暹粒还多的诈骗,但不幸的是,随着旅游业的增长,可能会有更多的骗子。我们建议您在到达之前做一些研究,了解可能的花费。


蛇:在柬埔寨有许多类型的蛇,但你不太可能看到一只蛇,因为大多数蛇避开人,在主要的旅游线路你也不太可能看到任何蛇。然而,当你参观丛林生长的寺庙时,你仍然要小心,因为在下面有可能有蛇,有些是致命的,像凶猛的马来亚坑蛇蝎。幸运的是这些蛇非常罕见。 其他毒蛇包括常见眼镜蛇,它有一个非常毒的毒液和条板蛇,它的毒液与眼镜蛇的毒量相同,但它更可怕,因为当它咬住之后,便不会松口。另一条可以看到的蛇是绿坑蛇,这是一条小树蛇生长到约2英尺,有毒,通常从上面攻击其受害者。金树蛇或飞蛇,也较小的中配,也可以在柬埔寨找到,但它非常罕见,只有轻度毒液。


萨湖洞里会发现许多类型的水蛇,其中有些像非常罕见


Angkor Wat Temple

360 degree virtual tour 360 degree virtual tour
18人预约,在过去48小时内我们的酒店。
27游客在看这个网站。
 
Lotus Blanc Resort TripAdvisor Borei Angkor Facebook Borei Angkor Twitter Borei Angkor Google Plus Borei Angkor google plus Borei Angkor instalgram

T: +855 63 969 300 | Contact Us
  • English Flag
  • Book Now

    General Information

    As we are based in Siem Reap we can provide you with all of the information you will need for your trip to Cambodia. We have therefore put together the following information, which we will update immediately whenever we are made aware of any changes.


    About Cambodia


    Area: 181,035km2

    Population: Approx. 15 million

    Capital: Phnom Penh

    Language: Khmer but English widely spoken especially in Siem Reap

    Religion: Buddhism

    Time Zone: GMT +7 hours and BST +6 hours

    Currency: Riel, but US dollars are widely accepted

    Weights/Measures: Cambodia use the metric system

    Source from: Siem Reap Room

    Money matters
    We recommend that you bring US dollars to Cambodia, as Riel is only used for buying small items and for tipping. There is approximately 4,000 Riel to 1 US dollar. You can use ATMs in Siem Reap, Phnom Penh and Sihanoukville to withdraw US dollars. The following cards are accepted at the ATMs; Visa, Mastercard, Maestro, Cirrus and Plus. Major credit cards are accepted in the larger hotels and in restaurants. Traveler's cheques can be exchanged at banks, money exchangers and most of the bigger hotels at a charge of 2%. Cash advances are also available on Visa and Master cards from most banks and money exchangers. Banks are open from 8:00am to 3:30pm Monday to Friday and some banks are also open on Saturday mornings. Money exchangers open early and close around 10:00pm. All major currencies are easily exchanged especially Thai Baht and the Euro. Western Union and Moneygram transfers are available in most major towns and cities. If you want to transfer money, then bank transfers are the cheapest way to do it.

    Please be aware that there is a lot of counterfeit US dollars in Cambodia, so you should check your US dollars before you arrive and also when in Cambodia, even from banks. Also make sure that your US dollars are in good condition, because most places will not accept torn notes even if they are very small.

    Costs of visiting Siem Reap
    Costs in Siem Reap are still relatively low compared to the more developed countries. However, Siem Reap is more expensive to visit than other towns in Cambodia, especially if you take into consideration the entrance fees to the temples. You can find more information about these costs in our Angkor Temples section.
    Getting around Siem Reap is also another cost to consider. This can be done relatively cheap by bicycle at US$1.50 per day, but if you prefer to get around by a tuk tuk or taxi, then this will obviously cost you a bit more. You can find more information about the costs of getting around in our Getting Around section.
    Accommodation is another cost to consider when visiting Siem Reap, although you can find places to stay from as little as US$1 per night for a dorm bed to luxury hotels costing thousands of dollars per night. Basically though, you can find many types of places to stay in Siem Reap from budget accommodation to top end hotels and spa resorts. You can find more information about hotels in our Hotels section and about guesthouses, villas and other budget accommodation in our Guesthouses section.
    You can enjoy eating and drinking in Siem Reap, whether you are on a tight budget or on an unlimited budget, because Siem Reap has many road side food stalls where you can eat for less than US$1 to very fine restaurants where you can easily spend a US$100 per person for a meal. Siem Reap has many places to eat now, so whatever budget you are on you can eat quite well. If you like going out for a few drinks (or more), then Siem Reap still has places where you can spend less than US$1 for a glass of beer or a few dollars for a known brand spirit. There are also a number of nice bars and cocktail bars in town where you can spend a night socialising and meeting other travellers on less than US$5. You will find some places to visit in our Restaurants & Bars section.
    As for other costs in Siem Reap, then it is mainly the attractions and activities to consider. They are not really that expensive though and you just need to decide whether you want to visit them or not. To help you decide, you can find plenty of things to see and do in Siem Reap in our Other Attractions and Leisure Activities sections.
    We recommend a minimum budget of US$35 per day for visiting Siem Reap, as this would cover a pass for the day for visiting the temples, a bed for the night and something to eat and drink. It is possible to visit Siem Reap on less than US$35 per day, but you are not going to enjoy it very much and we think visiting the Ancient City of Angkor is probably a once in a lifetime experience for most people. We would also recommend US$60 per day if you want to stay in a decent hotel, take comfortable transport to the Angkor temples, buy your Angkor pass and eat and drink well.
    Electricity
    Siem Reap rarely has power cuts. Moreover, most large hotels and restaurants have back up generators.
    The electricity supply is 220 volts AC, 50Hz. Most of the plugs are flat 2-pin, but round 2-pin plugs are also used in some places. Adapters are widely available.
    Departure tax

    International departure tax for adults is US$25 per person, for children under 12 years old it is US$13 per person and for children under 2 years old it is free. Domestic departure tax for both adults and children under 12 years old is US$6. There is no charge for children under 2 years old. VisasAll visitors require visas except nationals of Malaysia, Singapore, the Philippines and Laos. Tourist visas are single entry and are US$20. You will need to bring a passport sized photograph with you, although if you do not have a photograph the immigration officials will photocopy your passport for a fee of US$2. They are valid for a one month stay, but can be extended for a further month in Cambodia. However, they are expensive at around US$45. Children under 14 years of age do need visas but they are issued free. The minimum length of stay is 24 hours and your passport must be valid for at least 6 months on arrival. An onward ticket is very rarely asked for.


    Business visas are single entry and are US$25. They can be extended for single entry for 1 month or 3 months and multiple entry visas for 6 months or 1 year.


    Overstay of any visa is charged US$5 per day.


    You may be able to obtain an e-visa. For more information see evisa.mfaic.gov.kh.


    Nationals of the following countries must apply for a visa at a Cambodian Embassy before entering Cambodia and they must also have a letter of invitation or have a pre-arranged tour by a travel agent: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Iran, Iraq, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka and Sudan and a return is advised if you have letter of invitation.


    Certain nationals may also have problems crossing overland borders so please check with the Cambodia Embassy first if you are going overland. We have heard a few cases where nationals of India have had problems crossing the border by land but by air it does not seem to be a problem.


    Arriving at the airport

    When you arrive at the airport you will need to fill out an "Items to declare form" and also an "Arrival and Departure" card. If you do not have a visa on arrival, you will also need to complete a visa application form and attach a passport sized photograph. If you do not have a passport photograph, then one of the officials will gladly take a photocopy of your passport so you can use that instead of a photograph in exchange for a few dollars.


    Health and hygiene

    The most common illness amongst tourists to Cambodia is diahorea or sunstroke. We recommend that you always use bottled water and eat hot food, as this will reduce the chances of diahorea. Avoiding ice, salads and peeled fruit will help too. The heat and also drinking alcohol can have a big effect on your stomach as well. It's always a good idea to drink lots of water, wear a sun hat and keep out of direct sunlight.


    Malaria is quite common in Cambodia, but not in Siem Reap or Phnom Penh. Anti-malarial tablets are not really needed, but if you are visiting other parts of Cambodia then it is advisable to take some form of anti-malarial tablets. Malaria is transmitted by mosquitoes which normally bite you in the evenings. To help protect yourself against Malaria then the best protection is to ensure that you cover up bare skin, especially in the evenings, use a Deet based repellent, mosquito nets, mosquito coils and also spray your room with mosquito spray before going to bed.


    Dengue fever is also quite common in Cambodia and, unlike Malaria, it can be easily contracted in Siem Reap or Phnom Penh if precautions are not taken to avoid mosquito bites, especially in the rainy season or just after the rainy season. Dengue fever, like Malaria, is transmitted by the mosquito, but these mosquitoes bite during daylight hours unlike the Malaria carrying mosquito which normally bites in the evenings or early mornings. There is no vaccination for Dengue fever and, although it is not pleasant if you get it, it is rarely fatal as long as you seek medical attention as soon as possible. Protection against mosquito bites is the best protection against Dengue fever, so by following the same advice as above you can protect yourself against mosquito bites.


    We strongly advise you seek expert medical advice before travelling to Siem Reap.

    H.I.V affects a large amount of the people working in the sex industry, as does Hepatitis B and C. There is very little chance of catching bird flu in Siem Reap. Many drugs are available over the counter which would not be in the west. If you do become ill, let your hotel manager know as most of the time they will know where to find a good doctor. For emergencies then go to the new Royal Angkor Hospital on the airport road (see www.royalangkorhospital.com). We strongly recommend that you take out good travel insurance, one that will pay for transportation to Bangkok or home in case of emergency. You may also be better to see a doctor rather than go to some of the clinics for non emergencies, as you may find a receptionist diagnosing you with a serious medical problem.


    Postal services and communications

    The main post office in Siem Reap is on the West side of the river on Pokambor Avenue which faces Siem Reap river and it maybe easier to find FCC Hotel then it is about 400m from there following the river. You can send postcards, letters and parcels abroad and the service is pretty good. You can also make domestic or international phone calls and their also have a fax machine if you need to fax something back home.


    The post office is open Monday to Saturday from 7:30am to 11:00pm and also 7:30am to 5:30pm on Sundays.


    There a number of parcel service companies that have opened up in Siem Reap, but the one that most people will know is DHL Express, which is facing the river near the Old Market.


    Internet cafes and telephone calls

    There are probably over 200 internet cafes in Siem Reap where you can use internet facilities and also make domestic and international phone calls. Internet rates are normally US$0.50 to US$1.00 per hour. International phone calls via the internet are nearly all under US$1.00 per minute to all countries.


    To phone Cambodia the international code is 855 and area code for Siem Reap is 63. If you are inside Cambodia then you will need a "0" in front of the 63 to phone Siem Reap.


    Mobile SIM cards

    Tourist SIM cards are now available from around US$2 each and they last for 2 weeks. Officially you need to be a Cambodian national with an ID card or you need to live and work in Cambodia to be able to buy a SIM card for your mobile phone for longer than 2 weeks.


    Photography

    There are many photo shops in Siem Reap where you can develop photos or put your pictures onto a CD. Memory cards for digital cameras are widely available and are much cheaper than in the west. Camera batteries are also readily available in Siem Reap.


    Tipping

    Tipping is not expected, although it will be much appreciated by someone who is earning an average of US$50 a month in a restaurant. A few thousand riel or one US dollar is enough if you think they have served you well.


    Security

    Theft is the main concern in Siem Reap as the Police authorities take crime very seriously when it involves the tourists. However, Siem Reap is probably one of safest towns in Asia and definitely safer than most towns in the West.


    Commonsense can prevent theft, such as not carrying shoulder bags where someone on a motorbike could snatch it from you. Most theft though will occur from the place where you are staying, so be warned. Always put your valuables in a sealed envelope which can not be tampered with without you knowing when using a hotel safe or deposit box. Do NOT believe the receptionist if they say that they do not have an envelope or if they say "no problem". Most hotels and guesthouses will tell you not to leave any valuables in the room, because they will not be held responsible. This includes cameras, money, passports and anything else that is of great value to you. You should always keep valuables in the hotel safe but when you do not, then it is at your own risk not the hotel management's. Most staff in hotels and guesthouses will NOT steal from your room but the temptation can still be too great for them if you left, say, US$500 in your room which is over 1 year's salary to them!


    Siem Reap is quite safe to walk around during the day and in the evening. However, if you are going out late at night by yourself then we advise that you go with a tuk tuk or moto driver who you are familiar with. The police patrol Siem Reap in the evenings and many places have night security guards to deter thieves from premises.


    Please be aware that, despite what you may have heard, the Khmer Rouge is no longer active in Cambodia and there are no bandits.


    Finally, one last piece of advice. You will find Cambodians to be very friendly but, just as in any other country, they will expect you to be friendly in return. It is never wise to get involved in an argument with local people whichever country you are visiting and that includes Cambodia.


    Dangers and annoyances

    Ants: There a number of types of ant in Cambodia and some of them can give you very irritating bites. Do not attract ants to your room by leaving food lying around, especially anything with sugar in them or snack foods like crisps.


    Bed Bugs: Bedbugs carry a lot of pathogens (germs) which cause diseases, but they are unlikely to transmit any disease to you and the only thing you are likely to get is the discomfort of the actual bite. Bed bugs are like vampires and can drink a lot more of your blood than a mosquito. They can be found anywhere, even in 5 star hotels if the beds are not checked regularly. They generally live in the mattress or in the woodwork of a bed. Bed bugs are red/brown colour and look like a small beetle in appe


    We spanly recommend that you do not give money or food to any beggars as this does not help them in the long term. If you want to help people in their situation, then there are a number of Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) who are working with them, by trying to train them and helping them to find a job.


    Dogs: Dogs can be very annoying in Siem Reap, because many people use them as guard dogs and when someone walks near their premises, their dog will start barking and when one dog barks everyone's dog start barking. Do not attempt to stroke any dogs even if they look friendly, because there is Rabies in Cambodia.


    Land Mines: All the land mines have now been cleared around the temple area, so there is no cause for concern. However, if you are going anywhere off the main roads or tourist areas, then you should always employ the services of a guide.


    Monkeys: The monkeys at the temples do look very friendly and you will see people feeding them close up, but be warned they can change their behaviour very quickly and remember there is rabies in Cambodia. They can also transmit tuberculosis (TB) and certain strains of hepatitis. It is actually illegal to feed the monkeys around the temples.


    Mosquitoes: Mosquitoes can be very irritating more than anything else, especially in the evening. And of course they also carry some nasty diseases like Malaria and Dengue fever to name a few. To avoid them, cover up well in the evening showing little bare skin and also use a high deet repellent on any exposed skin. Hotels and guesthouses with a lot of greenery and stagnant pools will be over run with mosquitoes, especially in the rainy season and just after.


    Scams: There is nowhere near as many scams in Siem Reap as in some Asian countries, but unfortunately as tourism grows the more scammers there are likely to be. We recommend that you do some research before you arrive about how much things are likely to cost.


    Snakes: There are many types of snake in Cambodia, but you are unlikely to see one as most snakes avoid people and you are also less likely to see any on the main tourist routes. However, you should still be careful when visiting temples with jungle growth, because there can be snakes in the undergrowth, some which are deadly like the ferocious Malayan Pit Viper. Luckily these snakes are very rare. Other poisonous snakes include the Common Cobra, which has a pretty toxic venom and the Crate snake, which has venom the same strength as the Cobra but it is more scary because when it bites it does not let go. Another snake which can be seen is the Green Pit Viper, which is a small tree snake which grows to about 2ft, poisonous and normally attacks its victims from above. The Golden Tree snake, or flying snake, which is also small can also be found in Cambodia, but it is very rare with only mild venom.


    There are also many varieties of water snakes to be found in Tonle Sap Lake, some which are very rare like


    Angkor Wat Temple

    360 degree virtual tour 360 degree virtual tour
    18 people booked our hotel in the last 48 hrs.
    27 visitors are looking at this website.
     
    Lotus Blanc Resort TripAdvisor Borei Angkor Facebook Borei Angkor Twitter Borei Angkor Google Plus Borei Angkor google plus Borei Angkor instalgram